Fight For The Right To Choose

My recent post about Same-Sex Marriage in Minnesota was a call to action for those who stand with me regarding traditional marriage. It is our right and duty as citizens to let our state representatives know about our preferences for how they vote.

If you would like to know further background for why I disagree with same-sex marriage and why I am not against homosexuals, please consider reading this blog post “Traditional Marriage Matters” and watching the video above.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Mac Hammond

Mac Hammond is senior pastor of Living Word Christian Center, a nondenominational church located in Brooklyn Park (a suburb of Minneapolis), Minnesota. Pastor Hammond also hosts the Winner's Minute and the Winner's Way television broadcasts and has authored several internationally distributed books . Mac Hammond is broadly acclaimed for his ability to apply the principles of the Bible to practical situations and the challenges of daily living. Mac Hammond graduated from Virginia Military Institute in 1965 with a Bachelor's degree in English. Upon graduation, he entered the Air Force with a regular officer's commission and reported for pilot training at Moody Air Force Base in Georgia. Mac received his wings in November 1966, and subsequently served two tours of duty in Southeast Asia, accumulating 198 combat missions. He was honorably discharged in 1970 with the rank of Captain. Between 1970 and 1980, Mac was involved in varying capacities in the general aviation industry including ownership of a successful air cargo business serving the Midwestern United States. A business acquisition brought Mac and his wife Lynne Hammond to Minneapolis where they ultimately founded Living Word Christian Center in 1980.

2 responses to “Fight For The Right To Choose”

  1. Sarah says :

    Dear Pastor Hammond,

    Thank you for doing so much to educate people regarding God’s law. I have learned a great deal from you, and I try to share that knowledge with as many people as I can. When someone tries to defend homosexuality, for example, I will simply remind him or her that Leviticus 18:22 clearly states it to be an abomination. End of debate.

    I do need some advice from you, however, regarding some of the other laws in Leviticus and Exodus and how to best follow them.

    When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a pleasing odor for the Lord (Leviticus 1:9). The problem is my neighbors. They claim the odor is not pleasing to them. How should I deal with this?

    My dad wants to sell my sister into slavery, as stated in Exodus 21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair price for her?

    I know that a man is not allowed to have contact with me during my period of menstrual uncleanliness (Leviticus 15:19-24). The problem is, how can I tell said man why I can’t be near him? Can I take a week of sick leave from my job every month to avoid this problem without getting fired?

    Leviticus 25:44 states that I may buy slaves from the nations that are around us. A friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not Canadians. Can you clarify?

    I have a neighbor who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself?

    A friend of mine says that even though eating shellfish is an abomination (Leviticus 10:10), it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality. I don’t agree. Can you settle this?

    Leviticus 20:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have a defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear reading glasses. Does my vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here?

    I know you have studied these things extensively, so I am confident you can help. Thank you again for reminding us that God’s Word is eternal and unchanging

    I also have 2 follow up questions for you.

    My best friend previously divorced his wife, and she never cheated on him. Is she an adulterer? (Matthew 5:32)

    He now wants to remarry someone else. Is he an adulterer too? (Matthew 19:9)

    • Mac Hammond says :

      @Sarah My comments on the topic of same-sex marriage were not based on the laws found in Leviticus nor on any one passage in the Bible. It would be ridiculous to pick single verses out of the Old or New Testament and base your life upon them. Scripture needs to be interpreted within context of the time of the writing, the audience, the translation of the original text, etc. It also needs to be viewed through the lens of God’s character and what the Bible presents as the larger purpose of God’s plan for us, both now and throughout eternity.

      In this case, it’s important to not only view what the Bible says about homosexuality, but also about marriage. If you are interested in reading more about this, you can read it here: https://machammondblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/traditional-marriage-matters/

Leave a Reply

