Six Mindsets to Eliminate From Your Life, Part 1

6mindsets1

Resist Always Needing a Conclusion

Sometimes God doesn’t give you enough information to arrive at a conclusion. Because of the way our minds are constructed, we always want a conclusion. Therefore, one of our common pitfalls is that if God doesn’t give us enough information to arrive at a conclusion, we provide our own conclusions. The result is that we decide upon and believe wrong conclusions.

For example, (problem) “Well, I’ve gone up to the altar three times and had hands laid on me, and I’m still not healed.”

(Invalid conclusion) “God must not want me healed. It’s not the will of God to heal everyone.”

Do you see the faultiness of providing your own conclusion when you don’t have enough information?

If God doesn’t give you enough information—if the Holy Spirit doesn’t speak to you and show you something—then you need to stop right there in your mind. You can’t ask, “Why?” If you try to satisfy the “Why?” then you’ll supply the rest of the data, and you’ll be wrong. You’ll arrive at faulty conclusions like, “It must not be God’s will to heal me.”

So when there isn’t enough spiritual data for the rational process to lead you to a conclusion, the first sign of a mind that has been weaned is that it stops right there. A weaned mind doesn’t have to know, “Why?” It doesn’t have to know “When?”

Asking “Why?” produces agitation, and then an un-weaned mind will start supplying the answers—wrong answers!—that lead to wrong conclusions.

God has told us not to lean to our own understanding (Proverbs 3:5). He’s told us that we see through a glass darkly for now (1 Corinthians 13:12).

God simply isn’t going to give us all the answers today for every decision we will make between now and the rest of our lives. He will give us the information we need to make decisions for today. So learn to not give into your mind’s demand to bring everything to a conclusion.

Part two—and the second mindset to wean yourself from—will be posted next Thursday.

About Mac Hammond

Mac Hammond is senior pastor of Living Word Christian Center, a nondenominational church located in Brooklyn Park (a suburb of Minneapolis), Minnesota. Pastor Hammond also hosts the Winner's Minute and the Winner's Way television broadcasts and has authored several internationally distributed books . Mac Hammond is broadly acclaimed for his ability to apply the principles of the Bible to practical situations and the challenges of daily living. Mac Hammond graduated from Virginia Military Institute in 1965 with a Bachelor's degree in English. Upon graduation, he entered the Air Force with a regular officer's commission and reported for pilot training at Moody Air Force Base in Georgia. Mac received his wings in November 1966, and subsequently served two tours of duty in Southeast Asia, accumulating 198 combat missions. He was honorably discharged in 1970 with the rank of Captain. Between 1970 and 1980, Mac was involved in varying capacities in the general aviation industry including ownership of a successful air cargo business serving the Midwestern United States. A business acquisition brought Mac and his wife Lynne Hammond to Minneapolis where they ultimately founded Living Word Christian Center in 1980.

6 responses to “Six Mindsets to Eliminate From Your Life, Part 1”

  1. Sir says :

    Sir I have fought for seven years for my health. The sixth year I thought I must be something wrong. I went to the minister after service and said if I am in err or doing something wrong just rebuke me as he laid hands on me he began to prophecy and said there are many peaces to this puzzle the Lord is going to begin to reveal some pieces and shed some light on some things he began wailing in pain pain stop pain stop. Sir the pain did not stop. you’ll come out I don’t know how or when .He later told me Scott job is in the bible I don’t like it I have to tell you as a minister. So how much faith does it take to get healed I worked through the pain as my flesh tore and my veins broke. I was taught believe faith equals healing. I am barely alive to tell you it does not work instantly or always and after hearing what Kenneth hagin testified to being told by Jesus in In one of His messages which happened to be the same verse Kathryn Kuhlman was given in her message if you only new. Well I may well have acted quite differently. I understand dereck princes testimony in taking time to wait on God who had to repent of His sins before being healed hence the warning in communion of God for this reason many are sick and dead judge yourself and you won’t be judged. I was taught a very imbalanced truth concerning healing. It may cost me my life. Am I saved yes Have I prayed for people and seen healing and miracles yes. Am I going to live after seven years the loss of everything I could by faith say yes. but I honestly don’t know. Any comment would be appreciated sir.

    • Mac Hammond says :

      I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you have been facing. I can’t fathom the pain and mental battles you have been dealing with since this began. I don’t have the exact answers of the right path for you to receive healing, but I know Who does. Over the years, I’ve learned more and more that healing isn’t a formula. It isn’t a three-step process we all walk to receive victory. What we do know is what the Bible tells us about healing, health, and most importantly, God’s nature and His character. I encourage you to go back to the Bible and remind yourself who God is. Find out His character and what you can expect from Him. Refocus on Him in the middle of the hurt you are dealing with. God is greater than what you are facing. He has a way and a path to victory designed for you and as you lean on Him, His grace can and will provide you the strength and mental stamina to be persistent in walking that path.

      If you have further questions or would like to speak with someone in person, you can contact our ministry at info@mac-hammond.org.

      • Scott says :

        Thanks sir either I will have a great testimony or a loving smack in the back of the head when I get to heaven.(ha ha ) He did prophecy about a call on my life and tell me the enemy was fighting it. I guess it is time to learn to be content wether abased or abounding as I study I realize that God himself has written His very laws upon the hearts of His children courtesy of the Wonderful Holy Spirit. unfortunately I found eccl 3 who put that there ? ha ha have a good day. I really do appreciate you responding, thank you.

  2. Rachel says :

    God only knows how much I needed to read this. Thank you pastor Mac. You are such a blessing to our church.

    Rachel

  3. Emmanuel Newman says :

    Dear Pastor, How great it is for m e to meet you again thank God for the church and the ministry i pray for the entire congregation and most especially Pastor Lynne Hammond.I wish you God’s blessings till i come your again Your partner from Ghana, box 68, Akim Achiase West Africa. I shall be highly grateful to you if you could mail the winners way.
    Thanks.
    Emmanuel Newman.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Six Mindsets to Eliminate From Your Life, Part 1 | Fully Alive - August 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

